Menü
Lächelnde Frau zeigt auf eine gezeichnete Glühbirne, die Know-How zu Gebrauchtsoftware symbolisiert

Things worth knowing about used software: tutorials, tips and helpful facts

Which version is the best? How do I activate RDS CAL? How are Windows Servers licensed? Can I sell unneeded licences to usedSoft? How does an audit work? And what is the legal basis for software trade?

Here you will find everything you need to know. From version comparisons, upgrade tips and installation tutorials to information on sustainable IT landscapes. And, of course, all kinds of facts about the sale and purchase of used licences.

Any questions?

You can’t find what you are looking for? Feel free to contact our experts directly or send us an email here.

Stay informed

Subscribe to our newsletter. With it, we will provide you with helpful tips on used software and relevant news on usedSoft on a monthly basis.

Knowledge Base

What is used software?

The idea is quite simple: if a company no longer uses a software, it can sell the licences that are no longer needed. The next buyer thus gets the licences second-hand. So what is traded is a right of use. And unlike other products, this does not wear out. So a used software licence is just as good as a new one. However, the price is considerably lower. At usedSoft, we have professionalised this model as the first second-hand software provider in Europe.

Where do used licences of usedSoft come from?

The software licences originate, for example, from insolvencies, business closures, restructurings, system conversions or excess capacities of dealers. Imagine your company wants to migrate from Office 2016 to Office 2021. In this case, you can not only purchase the new version at a very good price from usedSoft. We will also be happy to check whether we can take your Office 2016 licences that are no longer needed in payment. You can find out which requirements have to be met here.

Video tutorials

We have put together step-by-step instructions, tutorials and video explanations for you. What does core-based licensing mean for Microsoft Windows Server, how does installation work with the Office Deployment Tool, is Standard or Professional Plus the better choice? And what is the difference between User, Device and RDS CAL?

The best way to find out is to watch our short video clips.

Top video

Useful tips

25. October 2022

Top 3 reasons for Windows 10

Time and again people ask us whether upgrading to Windows 11 is worth it - and on which devices the new operating system will technically run. Of course, there is not a single answer for everyone, but in general, we can say: Even one year after the launch of Windows 11, its predecessor is still [...]
20. September 2022

Windows Server – End of support and version upgrade

Especially if you are still using Windows Server 2012, you should definitely consider an upgrade. Because the end of support is already coming next year. How can you prepare for this and what options do you have when changing versions? Our licensing expert Julia Stöcker explains this in our latest video "Windows Server - Upgrade [...]

Menü
Lächelnde Frau zeigt auf eine gezeichnete Glühbirne, die Know-How zu Gebrauchtsoftware symbolisiert

Wissenswertes zu gebrauchter Software: Tutorials, Tipps und hilfreiche Fakten

Welche Version soll ich kaufen? Wie aktiviere ich RDS CAL?  Wie werden Windows Server lizenziert? Nimmt usedSoft Lizenzen in Zahlung? Wie läuft ein Audit ab? Und was ist eigentlich die Rechtsgrundlage für den Softwarehandel?

Hier finden Sie alles Wissenswerte rund um den Softwarekauf. Vom Versionsvergleich über Upgrade-Tipps und Installations-Tutorials bis hin zu Informationen über nachhaltige IT-Landschaften. Und natürlich allerlei Fakten rund um den Ver- und Ankauf von gebrauchten Lizenzen.

Fragen?

Sie finden nicht, was Sie suchen? Kontaktieren Sie gerne direkt unsere Expertinnen und Experten oder schreiben Sie uns hier eine Mail.

Informiert bleiben

Abonnieren Sie unseren Newsletter. Damit liefern wir Ihnen monatlich hilfreiche Tipps zu gebrauchter Software und relevante News zu usedSoft.

Knowledge Base

Was ist eigentlich Gebrauchtsoftware?

Die Idee ist einfach: Wenn ein Unternehmen eine Software nicht mehr nutzt, kann es die nicht mehr benötigten Lizenzen verkaufen. Der nächste Käufer erwirbt die Lizenzen also gebraucht. Weil es sich um ein Nutzungsrecht handelt, das sich nicht wie andere Produkte verschleißt, ist eine gebrauchte Softwarelizenz genauso gut wie eine neue. Der Preis ist aber wesentlich günstiger. Wir von usedSoft haben dieses Modell als erster Gebrauchtsoftware-Anbieter Europas professionalisiert.

Woher stammen gebrauchte Lizenzen von usedSoft?

Die Softwarelizenzen stammen zum Beispiel aus Insolvenzen, Geschäftsaufgaben, Umstrukturierungen, Systemumstellungen oder Überkapazitäten von Händlern. Nehmen wir an, Ihr Unternehmen möchte von Office 2016 auf Office 2021 wechseln. Dann können Sie nicht nur die neue Version zum günstigen Preis bei usedSoft beziehen. Wir prüfen auch gerne, ob wir Ihre nicht mehr benötigten Office 2016-Lizenzen in Zahlung nehmen können. Welche Voraussetzungen dafür erfüllt sein müssen, erfahren Sie hier.

Video-Tutorials

Schritt-für-Schritt-Anleitungen, Tutorials und Erklärvideos haben wir hier für Sie zusammengestellt. Was bedeutet die kernbasierte Lizenzierung für Microsoft Windows Server? Wie funktioniert die Installation mit dem Office Deployment Tool? Ist Standard oder Professional Plus die bessere Wahl? Und was ist eigentlich der Unterschied zwischen User, Device und RDS CAL?

All das schauen Sie sich am besten in unseren kurzen Video-Clips an.

Top-Video

Nützliche Tipps

25. Oktober 2022

Top 3 Gründe für Windows 10

Immer wieder werden wir gefragt, ob sich ein Wechsel auf Windows 11 lohnt – und auf welchen Geräten das neue Betriebssystem denn nun technisch einwandfrei läuft. Natürlich gibt es nicht die eine Antwort für alle, aber allgemein gilt: Auch ein Jahr nach dem Start von Windows 11 ist der Vorgänger die erste Wahl. Der Marktanteil [...]
20. September 2022

Windows Server – Supportende und Versionswechsel

Vor allem, wenn Sie noch den Windows Server 2012 einsetzen, sollten Sie unbedingt über ein Upgrade nachdenken. Denn das Supportende steht bereits im nächsten Jahr an. Wie Sie sich darauf vorbereiten und welche Optionen Sie beim Versionswechsel haben? Das erklärt Ihnen unsere Lizenz-Expertin Julia Stöcker in unserem neuesten Video "Windows Server - Tipps zum Upgrade". [...]